string quartet

Duration: 21'

commissioned by the Danish String Quartet with the support of Carnegie Hall, Cal Performances, Vancouver Recital Society, UC Santa Barbara Arts & Lectures, Flagey & Muziekgebouw aan ‘ t IJ

premiere April 21st, 2022 the Danish String Quartet, Carnegie Hall, New York

published by Fennica Gehrman

  1. Vorüber, ach, vorüber!
  2. Daktylus
  3. Pigen og scrapbogen (Das Mädchen und das Scrapbuch)

“Something fierce, something soundless, I’ve written to my notebook when planning the string quartet Pige. It has been an inspiring task to write a work to be paired with The Death and the Maiden quartet by Franz Schubert, and the ”Doppelgänger” idea was greatly feeding my imagination from the very beginning. It’s also been an honour to write music for the hugely expressive musicians of the Danish String Quartet.”    (L.W.)